Monogram Wreath

There are some pins on Pinterest that you just keep seeing over and over again and gush every time. For some reason, I always default to the “I could make that” mentality for the crafty ones. It’s a blessing and a curse, that’s for sure.

One of those images is this pin from Embellished Living on Etsy. I just absolutely love the jute, and what newlywed doesn’t want a couple monograms in her house?

One morning, I was fortunate enough to find this fabric covered C at a neighbor’s garage sale for a whopping $0.50. Heck yea!

I originally had the thought that I would spray paint it and spruce it up with a fun design. However, that quickly was replaced with memories of the monogram wreath when the spray paint was immediately soaked up by the fabric and batting.

With my “I could make that” hat on, I set out to Hobby Lobby to buy some jute twine to cover up the striped fabric and attempt at spray paint. While the husband studied away, I spent a couple hours wrapping and hot gluing the twine, and making paper flowers out of scrapbook paper.

Quickly, our front door went from empty and lonely:

Yep, there I am!

To being adorned with this:

I’m super pleased with how it turned out and think the price tag was well worth it! I am even thinking of possibly replacing the summery paper flowers with some more fall-like ones when the seasons change.

For now, this little lady brings a smile to my face every time I’m welcomed home!

So, do you have any pin obsessions out there you’d like to recreate? I’d love to check them out!

8 thoughts on “Monogram Wreath

  1. Great job Lauren! On my list for pinterest-inspired crafts are tea cup candles! I originally saw them on Cupcakes & Cashmere and think they would make a great thank you or holiday gift!

Leave a Reply

