My First Bountiful Basket

Fun fact: I love (and I mean really love) grocery stores. It’s a weird thing to love, but I can’t deny it.

Ever since my trip to Spain when I met my man, I have been intrigued by all the different types of grocery stores, markets, and road side stands. Bless his heart for walking through countless Spanish grocery stores to stare in amazement at things like white asparagus. Didn’t know that existed? Me either, until my love of grocery stores began…

Ever have those days where all you want to do is go home, put on PJs and indulge in a pint of Talenti Sea Salt Caramel Gelato? I do… that’s for sure.

But before I do that, I typically can be found roaming the aisles of The Fresh Market, Trader Joe’s or even the Publix at the corner. Something about it is so calming to me! The promise of delicious meals that I could potentially cook… ahh, sweetness.

And today, I took a leap into something new. I’ve contributed to my first Bountiful Basket at the local Athens Produce Co-Op!

I’ve thought about taking part for a while now, but just have never really had a Saturday where it seemed logical. Now I can’t wait for all the producey goodness to come my way this weekend!

Apparently, I’ll receive a basket full of goodies for only ~$15, but that would cost about double that in the store. I’m game!

Here’s an example of a basket:

This Saturday, I’ll be picking up my produce friends and am hoping to be wow’ed! We shall see.

The goal? To actually use everything in the basket before it goes bad. Hoping to live up to that! A token phrase in my household is: “I hate wasting food.” So waste food I will not!

Stay tuned for an update on what I got! If you’d like to take part, head here to sign up tonight.

So, do you all enjoy grocery stores and markets as much as I do?

2 thoughts on “My First Bountiful Basket

  1. Pingback: Five Truths… | mason jar moments

  2. Pingback: The Farmer’s Market “Flavor” | mason jar moments

Leave a Reply

