The Farmer’s Market “Flavor”

For most people, going to the grocery store is just a dreaded task. However, for me, I welcome shopping for food with open arms. You may remember my description of grocery stores and markets serving as a sort of stress reliever for me. I find it weirdly exciting to walk into a store with a list of goodies to bring home for the next dinner. And on top of it, I typically end up buying much more than I needed or expected. I’m a sucker for a good deal.

But in an effort to soak up every bit of Athens in this final year here, we’ve been incorporating my love of food shopping into every free weekend we have at the Athens Farmer’s Market. There is just something special about the local food, local people and local flavor of Athens that you can’t find anywhere else.

And the color… oh it’s lovely. Here are just a few photos from our most recent visit of some of the best and brightest of colors.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I just love it. Fortunately, the market lasts well into the end of the year because the weather down south is so warm for so long. I’m super thankful for that. I’ll take any spare moment of stress-free roaming at the farmer’s market with a fresh squeezed juice I can get.

What is your favorite way to spend a free weekend?

Leave a Reply

